Ernst & Young Announces Vista Bank CEO Steinmetz as 2024 Southwest ‘Entrepreneur of the Year Award’ Finalist

On April 30, Ernst & Young LLP announced that John D. Steinmetz, president and CEO of Dallas-based Vista Bank was named a 2024 “Southwest Entrepreneur of the Year Award” finalist. Now in its 38th year, “‘Entrepreneur of the Year’ is the award for audacious leaders who disrupt markets, revolutionize sectors and have a transformational impact … Read more

Frost Bank Garners Highest Number of Greenwich Excellence and Best Brand Awards…Again

San Antonio-based Frost Bank received 34 Greenwich Excellence and Best Brand Awards—the highest amount received nationwide for the eighth consecutive year—for providing superior service, advice and performance to small-business and middle-market banking clients. As in previous years, Frost Bank is the only Texas-based bank to receive national recognition for “Overall Satisfaction” and “Likelihood to Recommend” … Read more

Texas Bankers Hall of Fame Announces 2024 Inductees

On January 3, the Texas Bankers Hall of Fame announced its 2024 inductees who will be honored at the 11th Annual Texas Bankers Hall of Fame Gala, April 25 on the campus of Sam Houston State University in Huntsville. Five iconic bankers—James E. Baine, the late Harlan R. Heitkamp, Carmen Jordan, Vidal H. Ramirez and … Read more

Medina, Jefferson Bank’s Chief Information Security Officer, Honored with Top Global CISOs Award

Roman Medina, chief information security officer at San Antonio-based Jefferson Bank, has received a 2023 Top Global CISOs Award, sponsored annually by Cyber Defense Magazine. Chief information security officers are the first responders of cyberspace as they fend off cyber criminals, cyber terrorists, malicious insiders and nation-state-sponsored attacks. Medina competed against thousands of candidates for … Read more

American Banker’s 2023 ‘Best Banks to Work For’ List Includes 11 Texas-based Financial Institutions

American Banker has released its 2023 list of the “Best Banks to Work For,” which includes 11 banks based in Texas or with operations in Texas among the 90 listed. Like last year and the year before, Oakworth Capital Bank in Birmingham, Alabama, was ranked the Best Bank to Work For. First Federal Savings & … Read more

Alliance Bank’s Sellers Bestowed 2023 ‘Excellence in Leadership’ Award by Texas Community Bankers

In September, the Independent Bankers Association of Texas (IBAT) honored Thomas Sellers, chairman of the board at Alliance Bank in Sulphur Springs, with its 2023 “Excellence in Leadership” Award. He was presented the award during the association’s 49th annual convention held September 16–19 in Frisco. To be considered for the Excellence in Leadership Award, one … Read more

First Security Bank Wins Beaumont’s 2023 ‘Start-up Business of the Year’ Award

The Greater Beaumont Chamber of Commerce recently bestowed Beaver, Oklahoma-based First Security Bank with its 2023 “Start-Up Business of the Year” Award. The honor was presented during the Beaumont Chamber’s Annual Meeting and Awards Event, which “celebrates excellence and ethical conduct in the marketplace, along with active community involvement.” First Security Bank CEO Clint Walters … Read more

Vérot Moore, Amerant Bank’s Houston Market President, Named “Women Who Mean Business” Honoree

Caroline Vérot Moore, executive vice president and Houston market president at Coral Gables, Florida-based Amerant Bank, was recently honored by the Houston Business Journal at its 2023 “Women Who Mean Business” Awards luncheon. The event was held in Houston on October 13. The award honors women across nine industry categories, as well as a “Woman … Read more

McGee and Weinstock Added to IBAT’s Wall of Heroes and Legends

The Independent Bankers Association of Texas (IBAT) announced two new additions to the IBAT Wall of Heroes and Legends of Texas Community Banking located at the organization’s headquarters in downtown Austin: Milton McGee and Peter Weinstock. The Wall of Heroes and Legends is reserved for special individuals who have contributed significantly to the strength of … Read more

VeraBank Recognized as 2023 nCino Financial Services Impact Award Winner

On July 14, Henderson-based VeraBank announced that it has received the 2023 Financial Services Impact Award in the “Speed” category by North Carolina-based nCino, a financial technology company. The company’s cloud-based banking software helps financial institutions gain efficiencies from digitizing and streamlining processes in commercial banking, small-business banking and retail banking. The award recognizes stand-out … Read more