Texas Bankers Hall of Fame Announces 2023 Inductees

On January 2, the Texas Bankers Hall of Fame announced its 2023 inductees who will be honored at the 10th Annual Texas Bankers Hall of Fame Gala, April 27 on the campus of Sam Houston State University in Huntsville. Five iconic bankers—Kenneth L. Burgess Jr., Ron Butler, James D. Goudge, J. Pat Parsons and the late … Read more

WestStar Bank CEO Osborn Inducted Into El Paso Business Hall of Fame

On December 14, El Paso-based WestStar Bank announced that David W. Osborn, president and CEO, has been inducted into the El Paso Business Hall of Fame. The El Paso Business Hall of Fame, presented by Junior Achievement of El Paso, recognizes business leaders who have made enduring contributions to El Paso. “I am honored to … Read more

Texas State Representative Murr Honored with TBA’s Community Crime Fighter Award

When criminal gangs and cartels unleashed a costly wave of “hook and chain” attacks on bank ATM machines, Texas State Representative Andrew Murr (R–Junction) took the lead in the Texas House to increase felony penalties for these crimes. The Texas Bankers Association (TBA) and Hill Country bankers hosted a luncheon in Kerrville on October 26 … Read more

Coaxum Honored by the American Bankers Association with Inaugural Emerging Leader Award

Ryan Coaxum, vice president/commercial lender at Mount Pleasant-based Guaranty Bank & Trust, was honored by the American Bankers Association as a recipient of its inaugural “ABA Emerging Leader Award.” This new award recognizes the next generation of bank leaders who are committed to the highest standards of achievement and service to both their industry and … Read more

American Bank’s Raffaele and Keystone Bank’s Wilkinson Nominated for Best CEO Award

Congratulations to American Bank’s Stephen C. Raffaele and Keystone Bank’s Jeff Wilkinson for being nominated as the top CEO in Central Texas in the Austin Business Journal’s 2022 “Best CEO Awards.” The Austin Business Journal hosts the annual awards to recognize chief executive officers in Central Texas who have a strong record of innovation and … Read more

El Paso Inc. Names WestStar Bank’s Conroy One of This Year’s ‘Women of Impact’

Cindy Conroy, director of community outreach at El Paso-based WestStar Bank, has been named one of this year’s “Women of Impact” by El Paso Inc., a West Texas business publication. “She’s the unsung hero behind the scenes,” Rick Francis, WestStar CEO, tells El Paso Inc. Francis describes Conroy’s job at the bank as “a chief … Read more

Fort Hood National Bank Honors Heroes with Name Change

Killeen-based Fort Hood National Bank is changing its name to First Heroes National Bank, effective September 1. The bank explained the change “as part of our ongoing dedication to serving soldiers and their families worldwide” on its website, adding that, “for over 55 years, our mission has been ‘Serving Those Who Serve.’” Retired Army Col. … Read more

Scurlock, IBAT’s Government Relations Director, Honored with the Association’s Trailblazer Award

Steve Scurlock accepts the 2022 IBAT Trailblazer Award from Christopher Williston, IBAT’s president and CEO.The Leadership Division of the Independent Bankers Association of Texas (IBAT) recently honored Stephen Scurlock, IBAT’s director of government relations, with the association’s 2022 esteemed Trailblazer Award. He was honored in June during the 37th Annual Connecting Leaders Conference—the division’s flagship … Read more

VeraBank’s Tidwell Honored with Community Bankers’ Prestigious Leadership Award

Brad Tidwell receives IBAT’s 2022 Excellence in Leadership Award from Justin Steinbach, IBAT Leadership Division chair and senior vice president at Frost Bank in Dallas.The Leadership Division of the Independent Bankers Association of Texas (IBAT) recently honored Brad Tidwell, president and CEO of Henderson-based VeraBank, with its 2022 Excellence in Leadership Award. Tidwell was honored … Read more

Texas Bankers Foundation Announces 2022 Emerging Leader Honorees

On May 18, the Texas Bankers Foundation, the charitable arm of the Texas Bankers Association (TBA), announced the seven recipients of its 2022 Emerging Leader Awards. Each of the bankers selected was chosen by a TBA member banking institution president, CEO or chairman of the board and recognized for his or her outstanding qualities. “We are … Read more